Computing on Ciabatta Bread

Think for a moment about the sandwich. No, not the one you had for lunch today or your favorite one at the cafe. I mean the concept of the sandwich. It’s really not that sexy. Some bread, some meat, maybe some cheese, some toppings, some sauces and that’s about it. It’s essentially unchanged since it’s inception as a way to avoid getting the Earl’s fingers dirty back in the 1700’s.

Now think about how that gets marketed, at least in North America. Several dozen restaurants have tried to de-commoditize the sandwich by providing a dining experience or by making subtle changes to the sandwich.  I always get a laugh when I go into one such chain in that they are always changing the bread options for my dining experience. Would you care to try that on our new rosemary encrusted ciabatta bread or perhaps our asiago cheese croissant?  Of course for the pleasure of having my custom creation and dining experience I am willing to pay more. After all this isn’t Mom’s baloney with yellow mustard on white. This is something new, something that expresses who I am.  Or is it just a sandwich?

Many techo-pundits are lauding the virtues of cloud computing as something wholly new that will transform your business and finally deliver on the long promised dream of an automated and efficient enterprise. Buy our products, engage our professionals services, let us craft for you a cloud shaped dream of the future. Many times this centers around virtualization or software/platform/infrastructure/cheese as a service (xaaS). These are all fine and good but are any of these things really going to deliver something new?  Or is it the same old sandwich with ciabatta bread instead of Mom’s white bread?

Let’s set the record straight. I believe in cloud computing.  I think for the first time in the web era we are finally get our heads around how this stuff should really work. But nobody is going to sell you a package of cloud. It doesn’t come in individually wrapped, snack size portions. Virtualizing your data center won’t give it to you alone. Rearranging some network routes and firewall rules to use IaaS won’t give it to you alone. Using SalesForce or Concur or GMail alone won’t give it to you. That’s because it’s not about applications or platforms or infrastructure or security or any of these things in and of themselves. It’s about, for the first time, all those things working in concert.  That and so much more.

What do you want your cloud to look like?  Over the next few posts I’ll be talking about the vision that I have for cloud computing, what I think it takes to get there and what you can do to help. I would love to get your feedback. I also want to call you to a shared vision of where you can take this within your enterprise and what we can do together as an industry.

Stay tuned.

21 thoughts on “Computing on Ciabatta Bread

  1. I drop a leave a response each time I appreciate a post
    on a website or if I have something to valuable to
    contribute to the conversation. Usually it
    is caused by the sincerness communicated in the
    post I browsed. And after this post Computing on Ciabatta Bread The
    Loose Couple’s Blog. I was actually excited enough to leave a commenta response 😛 I do have some questions for you if you tend not to mind. Could it be simply me or does it look like like a few of these responses appear like left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional places, I would like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list all of all your community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  2. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d without a doubt donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for
    bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will share
    this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  3. And a key to the programs success will be the development
    and implementation of an outreach and education campaign to encourage participation in the CLASS program.
    Further information can be obtained by contacting the Washington Institute of Natural
    Medicine at (202) 237-7681. Katz helps clients find relief
    from the pain without resorting to medications or invasive procedures.
    The following year, at the age of thirty-eight, he matriculated at the Louisville Dental College in Kentucky, where he remained until he was graduated.
    These lenses are employed for the duration of
    get in touch with fittings and dispensed to the sufferers free of charge of cost.

  4. I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check
    back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  5. I’m still learning from you, while I’m improving myself. I definitely liked reading everything that is written on your blog.Keep the stories coming. I enjoyed it!

  6. If you desire to study how you can construct gorgeous and exquisite cartoon animations, develop top quality 3d animations
    plus produce them into cartoon animation movies, then follow this hyperlink
    to the top. In the Simpsoms, family members was believed by Groening soon before a throw to get a sequence of animated briefs while using manufacturer
    James L. It’s and a bazaar that works well able-bodied online, bodies are analytic for Simpsons online, and getting, and it is this you utilize to accomplish money.

  7. I needed to thank you for this great read!! I definitely loved every
    little bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

  8. I have been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours
    today, yet I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It’s beautiful price enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the web can be much more useful than ever before.

  9. It’s in point of fact a nice and useful piece of information. I’m happy that
    you shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

  10. He died in 1985 but this very personal museum can be a
    lasting reminder of the very remarkable man. So far, reactions to
    the acquisition, as well as towards the announcement
    in the new business model, have been mixed,
    but only time will inform whether or not just a revamped version from the massively popular
    peer-to-peer website will be as successful since its predecessor.
    There are a couple of significant improvements made over Vista, as well as
    the most part, it’s only a version of Vista that’s both stable and much more user-friendly.

  11. But what many do not know is that with a few simple exercises that are specifically targeted to certain areas, you will be
    able to work on your cellulite as well. You can also
    eat wholegrain bread (Ezekiel) and wholegrain pasta. The scope of effective
    treatments or therapies for cellulite is vast.

  12. Yes, these musicians might be better off than you or
    I, but the fact with the matter is that when you steal music from and Psychopathic Records
    artist, they start cutting their staff, many of which are necessary to their
    career’s progression. In internal retention, pulll the abdominal organs in or higher, and simultaneously bring the reduced spine forward. When your computer is operating a torrent of knowledge coming across the network connection and writing lots of that information for the hard drive, you can expect decreased performance in other operations.

  13. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i
    know how to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that
    creates high quality, google friendly articles in minutes,
    just type in google – laranitas free content source

  14. What you published made a bunch of sense. But, consider
    this, suppose you were to create a awesome headline?
    I am not suggesting your information is not solid, but what if you added
    a title that makes people want more? I mean Computing on Ciabatta Bread
    | TheThingyNet.com is a little vanilla. You might peek at Yahoo’s home page
    and watch how they write article titles to grab viewers to open the links.
    You might add a video or a pic or two to get people excited about
    everything’ve written. In my opinion, it would make your posts a
    little livelier.

  15. After going over a number oof the articles on your web site,
    I really like your techique of writing a blog. I bookmarked it to myy bookmark website list andd will be checking
    back soon. Please check out my wbsite as well and
    let me know youhr opinion.

Leave a Reply

